January 2013: Energy / NaBloPoMo

I Thought I Was Being Creative, But…

I came up with this awesome story idea once. In a somewhat futuristic setting, people could have a timer implanted into their wrist, which would count down the time until they met their soulmate; my protagonist would get this implant, only to realize the timer was already set to zero, meaning he had already met his soulmate and now had to find her again. Totally new and unheard of, right?

As it turns out, I was wrong.

Browsing through Netflix one day, I came across a movie calledย TiMER.ย The plot summary reads,

In this comedic fantasy, science has facilitated the search for a soul mate via biotechnological implants that count down to the moment one is supposed to meet his or her match. But Oona (Emma Caulfield) is worried: She’s nearly 30, and her TiMER isn’t ticking yet. Will her dream guy get snatched up by someone else?”

You can’t even begin to imagine how disappointed I was.

When this happened, all I could think was, do I keep writing? Do I stop now that I know this is unoriginal? I ended up stopping, just because the similarities were far too close and I thought continuing would be pointless. It’s made me more wary now; what if I write something, dedicate all of my time to it, only to realize it’s a copy of something else? I think this fear has ultimately stopped me from penning a single word since.

I need to change that. I need to get back into writing again. I do.

10 thoughts on “I Thought I Was Being Creative, But…

  1. There’s also the recent movie In Time with a similar concept. Timer in wrists, except when it get’s to zero you stop breathing.

    Maybe a unique idea such as yours has more trouble being written again. Often old ideas done well, or given a new spin can be really good stories. As long as there’s a fresh element to the story, like your authorial voice/style or some other cool idea.

  2. Personally, it sounds like your idea is asking a totally different question. Not, live in the moment because why should be wait for the future, but re-examine the past because clearly we missed something. Right?

      • Well, the thing in common between your idea and the movie plotline is the wrist timer counting down until we meet ‘the one’. The movie is more concerned with the nervousness of a nearly 30 woman fretting that she hasn’t found ‘the one’ yet, has no countdown at all yet, and yet refuses to live her life in the moment because there’s just no point if it’s with the wrong guy. Your idea is totally different: the protagonist has already met ‘the one’ but missed them somehow and so they don’t know who it is. That’s a totally different issue: this MC will be fretting over their past and reviewing it to find the person they missed. Not worrying about living in the moment or worried about never having ‘the one’ at all. Sorry if this is confusing, but I think you could certainly write the story and contribute something totally new that the movie doesn’t consider. After all, aren’t we all worried that we overlook people and therefore could have missed the right someone?

      • Oh, okay! I actually never thought of it that way! Hmm… maybe I’ll consider revisiting this plot again. This is some pretty interesting insight! Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • For an alternative idea, the movie ‘What’s your number’ is a romantic comedy also about the idea that she missed her chance at true love in the past, without any timer concept at all. Not remotely your idea either though :).

Your Thoughts

