January 2013: Energy / NaBloPoMo

Twenty Thirteen!

First off, a most happy new years to all of you!

How did I spend my New Year’s Eve, you ask? I went to a local restaurant/bar with my sister and her husband, a bartender there. They thought I would be carded just to get in but no such thing happened. I drank champagne, something fruity that I was never able to identify, and a shot of something so godawful that even the most experience drinkers cringed. I didn’t get plastered, but I was tipsy enough that I made friends with fellow party-goers and sent some interesting (nothing bad, just humorous) texts to my two best friends. I then went to bed, woke up the next morning, made breakfast with my sister, and played on my brother-in-law’s Playstation 3.

I mentioned earlier that I opened an OkCupid account. I started it mostly out of curiosity, and before I knew it I was already talking to some pretty interesting, relatively good-looking, near-my-age guys. Not to say I didn’t get any weird ones, but I was able to overlook them. I also got messaged by a guy who seemed absolutely perfect except for the fact that he’s sixteen years older than me. I always joked about finding a sugar daddy, but when the prospect suddenly showed itself, I wasn’t feeling it at all.

I’ve been twenty for nearly a month now, and I must say, I like it. Lately I’ve caught myself thinking, “You know what? I can go for it. I can do things, because I’m twenty now.” I’m old enough to be mature and responsible, but young enough to seize the day liberally.

Am I setting any resolutions this year? No. I mean, sure, I’d like to be more in shape, enter a relationship, learn a new skill, so on, before the year ends, but I’m not going to hold myself to it and risk disappointment. Essentially, I’ve decided that this year I’m going to pursue what I want and get the most out of life. I think it’s a good mindset to have.

Your Thoughts

